About this Site

The rangahau website was inspired by Dr Leonie Pihama, Māori and Indigenous Analysis Ltd. The resource has been conceptualised and developed by Rautaki Ltd and Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga.

This website is part of a larger project called kaupapamaori.com, a collaborative development between Te Whare Wānanga o Awānuirangi, Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga and Māori and Indigenous Research Institute (IRI) The University of Auckland, and funded by the Tertiary Education Commission.

Special thanks to:
Kaapua Smith - Rautaki Ltd
Jenny Lee - Rautaki Ltd
Helen Crown – Rautaki Ltd
Maryann Lee - Rautaki Ltd
Prof. Linda Tuhiwai Smith - Nga Pae o Te Maramatanga
Donna Gardiner - Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga
Dr Leonie Pihama - Māori and Indigenous Analysis Ltd.


Rautaki Ltd
PO Box 44179
Point Chevalier
Tamaki Makaurau

Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga
Waipapa Marae Complex
Private Bag 92019
The University of Auckland

Te Amorangi Matauranga Matua
Tertiary Education Commission

44 The Terrace
PO Box 27-048

Te Whare Wānanga o Awānuiarangi
Private Bag 1006
Corner of Francis Street & Domain Road

Māori and Indigenous Analysis Ltd

P.O.Box 15283
New Lynn
Tamaki Makaurau
Contact email: maia@maia.maori.nz

The Logo

Kawariki Morgan designed the main logo for this website. He provides the following explanation for the design: “The artwork used in this website is inspired by the Kaperua kowhaiwhai design which represents the repositories of knowledge used by our ancestors to store and protect their sacred teachings”.


Many thanks to all the researchers that have contributed papers, posters, pamphlets or notes to this website:

Dr. Cherryl Smith
Prof. Graham Smith
Dr. Margie Hohepa
Dr. Charles Royal
Prof. Alison Jones
Aroha Harris
Jordan Waiti
Melanie Cheung
Dr. Mere Kepa

Special thanks to all the researchers that were filmed and whom contributed their ideas, experiences, knowledge and stories about rangahau to this website:

Dr. Wally Penetito
Dr. Fiona Cram
Aroha Mead
Dr. Matire Harwood
Bridget Robson
Dr. Ricci Harris
Keepa Morgan
Rau Hoskins
Dr. Leonie Pihama
Taina Pohatu
Hariata Pohatu
Dr. Moana Nepia
Rachel Wolfgramm
Mera Penehira
Dr. Paparangi Reid
Prof. Linda Smith
Dr. Clive Aspin
Melanie Chung
Te Kawehau Hoskins
Prof. Michael Walker
Joe Te Rito
Dr Leonie Pihama

We wish to also acknowledge the people photographed for this website:

Hariata Pohatu
Taina Pohatu
Roimata Fox
Kaapua Smith
Helen Crown

Photographer: Peter Lee

Film Production Crew

Director: Peter Lee
Cameraman: Peter Lee
Sound: Phil Kusabs
Director’s Assistant: Helen Crown
Interviewer: Kaapua Smith
Content Advisor: Jenny Lee